DIY Coxing post camera mount

Following a request I wanted to put up a post about how to make a cox post camera mount, by that what I mean is a mount for your camera which sits above the coxes head (in an 8) and films straight down the boat, this mount is quite useful for seeing catch angles and bdy postions down the boat.

I got the inspiration from the boat race camera’s that Oxford and Cambridge use like the one here:

 

My aim was to come up with one that was a little less permanently attached, could be easily adjusted and is a cheap and eas to make, since im not exactly a DIY legend.

Thankfully I was able to make quite a simple design, which I unveil below


Now I know it may not look like much, but the mount is actually surprisingly secure when mounted on the boat, and allows shots like this:

Notice the racing start, so it hung on pretty well!

To make it is extremely simple, only 4 parts (and glue):

To build it couldnt be simpler, at the end of each of the legs of the Hama tripod mounts are little plastic “feet” that cover the hollow ends of the legs, if you remove these feet (takes some brute force) then you expose the hollow of each leg

Now take the camera mounts, like this one

and inset the screw into the hole, and glue in place like this

Once all 3 legs are done, that’s it give yourself a pat on the back, you now you are ready!

As to mounting on an 8+, heres some points of advice:

  • The tripod has adjustable legs and neck, personally I try and make sure I use both to get a good height using both the legs and the neck to make sure its as stable as possible, have a play with it before you try it on the water
  • Try and mount the camera behind the cox but as close as possible to the cox to get a good shot, be careful you’re not interfering with the coxing cables/rudder however
  • Although the mounts do suction on very well (and i’ve actually done an outing in an 8+ where one of the legs actually lost suction and the mount was fine) I would still advise attaching some string to the mount incase it does come lose, and similarly use a waterproof camera “just in case”
  • For a camera, the lighter the better, personally I use my Gopro (using the tripod mount) although the fisheye lens does mean the bow pair looks distored/rowing short so take that into account before laying into their technique

I hope this helps! Please feel free to ask any questions, in further posts ill go over some of the other mounts ive made.

About stelph82

I am a rower who is a lot of a technology geek as well!
This entry was posted in Rowing Camera Mounts. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to DIY Coxing post camera mount

  1. Will W says:

    Wow, great pics! Thanks for the post. This was very helpful. Can’t wait to get started building.

  2. Robin Mould says:

    What glue is that? Araldite?

    • stelph82 says:

      Something like that, I essentially used a glue that specifically stated it was for glueing metal and was tough. Seems to have held well

  3. Sun Jen Yung says:

    Hi, do you think this mount will work for 4+, 2+ and 1x?

    • stelph82 says:

      Yes, on my YouTube feed I’ve got a video from trying it on a single and it works fine, also tied it on 4’s and 4+’ s no problem

  4. Mike says:

    Hello! My rowing team is about to head to our spring training in Texas so using your blog as a guide, I was able to make a suction cup tripod for my GoPro camera. I had previously used just a PVC pole through a port hole cover and that worked really well. However, it only worked for the 8+. Our 4s and pairs dont have port holes in the right places to use it, but now with your tripod we should have no trouble getting great training footage. Thanks!

  5. hwm says:

    We just came back from training camp in Reading using your tripod construction and it worked like a charm.
    We had tried building something similar a couple of years back but it never worked out very well.
    The Tripod stayed on perfectly for all of our outings and we got some great footage of our eight.
    Thanks a lot for this!

    • stelph82 says:

      Im glad that the post was helpful! Reading is just round the corner from where I am based in Henley so I hope you had a good camp and got some useful footage 🙂

  6. Jordy says:

    Great idea. I adapted your idea by glueing screw adapters on the tripod legs instead of the suction cups directly. This way I can also change one leg to a fixed mount for example. I have some shots made with the mount in this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i0fDwuImt-8

    I’ve used the following:
    3 * http://www.dx.com/p/1-4-and-3-8-female-threaded-aluminum-alloy-screw-adapter-spigot-stud-silver-164229
    3 * http://www.dx.com/p/65mm-car-suction-cup-mount-tripod-holder-for-dvr-dv-gps-camera-gopro-black-305031
    1 * http://www.dx.com/p/retractable-4-section-tripod-w-level-gradienter-for-slr-camera-silver-black-size-s-161082
    1 * http://www.dx.com/p/ri-001-universal-plastic-bicycle-bracket-holder-for-sport-camera-black-185089

    I removed the movable head of the tripod and used the bicycle holder instead. The moving head created some vibration. My biggest issue at the moment is that I bought a cheap tripod which can sometimes move a little bit. With a decent tripod you have the perfect solution!

    • stelph82 says:

      Looks great, I agree that the better the tripod the better the stability but considering mine was the cheapest I could find I was surprised how good it was

Leave a Reply

